It has been a few days since I saw this movie with some friends and since that time, I have given this movie some thought (I usually hate movie’s that make me think – I want to be entertained). I have also read other reviews and or comments about this movie and have not felt any that I have read actually captured what I felt.

If you have read any of my prior blogs, you will know that I am not a fan of this administration and I am highly concerned with the direction at which we are being lead, so when I went to the movie I was not expecting to become a supporter of the President. I did not, but I did come away with an appreciation for him that I did not have previously.

I have seen this movie tagged or described as an Anti-Obama movie, but I think that is a mischaracterization. This is not an anti-Obama or a pro-Obama movie, it is simply a movie that explores the family history of Barak Obama and his personal mentors.

In the exploration of the family history of Barak Obama there is a lot of information that explains the worldview of the President. As I was watching it I realized that his background, his formative years were startling and starkly different from the backgrounds of most political figures. Is that good or bad? I suppose that depends on your worldview. I think there are many Christians who might find this positive as many of his mentors and his family history is steeped in an anti-Western powers attitude and that could appeal to many Christians who have a concern over the exploitation of third world countries.

I, however, do not think the worldview that the President grew up in is a healthy or helpful worldview and is a curious worldview for the President of the United States. Regardless of what you think of Barak Obama though, this film is important for all of us to see. We ought to at least know who the man is that we are asking to take the reigns of the most powerful nation in the world. It does not matter just to us as U.S. citizens, but to the people all over the world.

