November is the month of Thanksgiving and as I was thinking about that, it was mixed in my mind with other days that are significant in the month, including Election Day and Veterans Day. I began to realize that I am really thankful to God for America for so many reasons. Let me recount some of those reasons:

  • I thank God that He has birthed us with a respect for who He is and what His role is in our individual as well as corporate lives. His word says that we are “fearfully and wonderfully made” and our founding documents say that “we are endowed by our creator”. I thank God that we recognize that.
  • I thank God that He founded us with a respect for human life, “endowed by our Creator with certain inalienable rights, among those life….”
  • I thank God that our station in life is not static. If we are born in poverty, we can achieve all that God intended for us to accomplish, because our country allows us the freedom and encourages us to pursue our dreams, which in reality are God’s dreams for our lives. “I know the plans I have for you,… plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”
  • I am thankful to God that I am not a subject of a king or a government, but that God has given me the privilege and responsibility to govern. I am part of this government of the people, for the people and by the people.
  • I thank God that I am free to worship Him. I do not answer to a government, nor do I need to worship Him in secret. I can unabashedly and fearlessly worship God and honor Him in my home or with friends, in a park or a building, but I do not fear persecution, jail, beating or death because I choose to worship God.
  • I am thankful to God that many men and women, many good friends (my dad included) have been willing to protect these blessings from God with their very lives, traveling far from home, in extreme cold and extreme heat under duress from enemy guns. I am thankful to them, but I recognize Jesus in their self-sacrifice and so I know God put that in their hearts to be willing to lay down their lives for a friend. The ultimate thanks goes to God.
  • I thank God that I can travel from sea to sea in peace because I know God has blessed us with laws that are fairly and consistently enforced through honorable law enforcement personnel and honorable judges. “When all Israel heard the verdict the king had given, they held the king in awe, because they saw that he had wisdom from God to administer justice”
  • I thank God for the abundance and the quality of food and clothing that He provides to us. God is kind to us and I thank Him. “Her profits will go to those who live before the LORD, for abundant food and fine clothes.”

For these things and many other things, great and trite, I thank God for America. I feel like America is God’s gift to me (us). He carved a country out of a world of tyranny and oppression, where the poor were doomed to poverty, with unjust and fickle law and no ability to improve their station in life. It was a world where only a privileged class made the laws that people were subject to, but often the rulers were exempt from.

It may seem naive or nationalistic or even jingoistic to write this way, but I am convinced that America was formed with a purpose by God and, as His people, we are to be thankful for it. Where it falls short in reaching the heights I have ascribed to her, it is incumbent upon us, the People of God and the people of America to restore her to or bring her to those heights. We have been given a great opportunity by God to do good in the world. I am thankful to God to be able to be a part of that. 

